While Mills Riddick's contemporaries may have mocked his Greek Revival home when it was built in 1837, the house now stands as a beautiful reminder of the past.
This most impressive structure on Main Street in Suffolk features striking architectural details. The five frieze band windows across the front of the house are rarely seen in eastern Virginia. The front of the mansion is bricked in Flemish bond, and double chimneys rise from both ends of the stately historic landmark. Slender columns of the Greek Revival period frame the main entrance. The interior showcases intricately carved moldings and elaborate ceiling medallions throughout the house.
Riddick's Folly has four floors, twenty-one rooms, and sixteen fireplaces. All four floors are open to the public. The building features elegantly furnished double parlors, a gentlemen's library, and adult and children's bedchambers. Also open are the laundry and dining rooms, and our newest restoration project, the kitchen, is now open. Riddick's Folly also offers a tastefully stocked Gift Shop.
Check us out on Facebook!
Riddick's Folly is a member of:
South Hampton Roads Museum Forum